The Lance is Real

Good morning Lance, how are you,

So nice I found you/you found me! I have no memory of you, as I have never met you…I have only imagined you.

How did you find this blog??? Did you just google The Lance and looked at ALL the results?

Good morning everyone else!

Remember The Lance ? Be sure to read The Story of The Lance again and check out the comments underneath.

He wrote to me and sent me this link

Here is its content written by MOMO:

The Lance

August 2, 2006

I’d like to highlight the work of The Lance here, but I have NO photos. Only memories. That’s going to be tough. (Here I’ve drawn a few pictures from memory.)

The Lance seemed to be a runaway with some emotional problems, living in Key West Florida, most of the 2-3 years I was there.

The Lance may be one of the best and most real street artists you’ll ever meet. I knew this at the time, but lacked the courage to do anything about it. (or what could I do?). I tried to talk to him once and he couldn’t hear me. He was walking in zig-zag patterns reading a book upside down and I was following him, raising my voice. I thought I’d waited a long time to make this decision; to make this connection, and now I looked really foolish because it wasn’t solely my decision to make, was it?

Finally Lance pulled giant orange industrial earplugs out of his ears and said “Oh, Hello.”

Then I explained I loved his work and named all I knew of, or had seen.

There was the time he dressed in a business suit and wore an cell-phone ear-piece and yelled, really yelled all sorts of business jargon in the middle of the Key West crowds. It was so funny. But to see him going at it, you knew it wasn’t a joke for him, and there was no chance he was earning money as a busker for this.

One time he walked around with a box labeled Top Secret, looking down into it, totally shocked and silent.

Much of the time he would read out-loud from books with a fury that would make you dismiss him as mad. Then you’d hear from the towns only copy shop that he’s there all the time creating stacks of pamphlets with big bold words like “Lance is great”. Or other pseudo-campaigns that would take the rest of the day to hand-out on the street. And that made me think he was really quite clever and self aware.

I don’t think he ever documented his work, and while I was standing there praising him, I saw no sign of pride, not even concealed pride. He just looked through me and asked if I’d read “1984″. It was in his hands and he had to be specific with what alarmed him right then. I didn’t need to meet anyone so “real” and selfless, but I really think I did. I’m a cynic, but Lance was authentic.

Lance was a mystery. Where did he get money for these projects, where did he come from each day?

The last things I’d seen him do – was his name in straight forward letters: The Lance, spray-painted in fluorescent colors on trash.

He’d touched on graffiti from street performance, but it was so funny that while 5 or 6 of us in the tiny town wanted to do our part for graffiti, meaning do something like a Bronx Burner, and we would all get arrested eventually, The Lance never looked up or played that game, just flipped it. I still think seeing big horrible letters freely written all over piles of trash is some of the most amazing street art I’ve seen. The surprise and legality of it had fooled everyone and you couldn’t slow him down without the town becoming less wasteful.

The very last thing I saw was a 4ft cow probably from Ben & Jerry’s – installed in an abandoned shop window. a connected thought bubble told you who’d done it. It looked ridiculous. There was a crime of breaking and entering & some kind of street art installed. But you couldn’t say there was anything cool about it. It just looked so funny standing in the window. It was real Dada. He stuck society with society, which is smarter than say; a cool stencil of anything “revolutionary”.

He also played music on an acoustic guitar that he pounded till it sounded amplified.

Where is Lance now? I’d like to know. My friends say he’s not in Key West.

momoshowpalace.com (cc) by nc nd 2013 MOMO

Categories: art and culture, Collection of Stories, Key West, literature, story | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Lance is Real

  1. ''harmonica 'blues dance'' lance'''

    i wish i knew how to use a computer. i have been sitting here canatonic for about a half hour now. how could i be so self centered. i showed some of my friends the print out of what momo wrote about me and what you wrote about me and now i guess i am so self centered and i feel bad. i thought that my entire life went down the memory hole after i was pulled out of society and put in the hospital for a year and then to chicago the live in the nursing homes for seven years and i was crushed everything i were the friends i had in key west and i was yanked out and then put in a very miserable situation and when i found these good things said about me i felt like my freinds my real friends the freinds that i have grown to love and care for and miss were still out there and i felt a ray of hope that perhaps it would be a good idea to go to key west and met these people who i value. and so it is not all about me me me me in my world it is all about them them them becaseu in actuallity i do care about others. the other day for example ( i am on a fixed income and welfare) i gave a homeless man 25 dollars and then 1 hour later i gave another guy down and out 45 dollars. my mom might of thought that would me mad or crazy if i told her that i did that. my goal in life is to help the homeless and animals and people in nursing homes if i ever get the chance. and if i was so self centered then why is it so easy for me to make friends? why am i so good at making freinds. the truth is that i know how. and that is by being kind and nice and honest and doing the right thing and being crazy if yhou have too. or maybe the actuallity is that i have no friends. i am always alone on myt birhtday and on thanksgiving and christmas. (oh, the reason why it was within my budget to give those down and out guys some dough was because the day before i found money in a pocket so i was 70 richer. any way, what ever the truth is is that was it is. i hope you are ok. and ihope that thinbgs are working out for you. i dont feel so good. i might take a walk or go to bed

    • Dear Lance, I am sorry if I made you feel bad…Words are worst than sharp blades, can cut inside you without a drop of blood. Forgive me.

      I feel I am one of your friends even if have never met you. It is true, obviously, you make friends easily if I am one of them already.

      I do think you are extraordinary in the most beautiful way.

      Don’t let people who don’t know you hurting you. Protect yourself from sharp blades, words, and misunderstandings.

      When is your birthday?

      I also once found a 20 dollar bill and immediately gave it away to someone i didn’t know… That made me feel better. Maybe i was trying to pay for something bad i’ve done before that, who knows. Charity sometimes can be tricky too…

      We are a family of 4, two kids, and we don’t work any more. No income at all. Not even a 1000 per month…

      Today we went to the local foodbank and they gave us so many good things to eat!!!! Two cabbages (I am cooking them right now) a bunch of potatoes, two tomatoes, lots of breads, rice, beans, a chocolate cake!!!! How about this! and lots of other things. We had to carry them in two bag-packs and four big bags all the way to the boatyard. Food for a week! But we also go and volunteer there, we help, the four of us, to sort the cans and packages, and we feel we are giving back to those who are helping us.

      Life is beautiful!

      We love you!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

